Soccer Almanac

American soccer writing, history & data.

Inaugural SLUSFL 1910-11 season

Dec. 29, 2021 |  Categories:  SLUSFL   St. Louis  

After the St. Louis University Park stadium was completed in 1910, the St. Louis University Soccer Football League was organized on September 27 to play doubleheaders every Sunday for the 1910-11 season. Teams in the league were the St. Teresa junior squad (champions of the amateur league the prior season), St. James, Immaculate Conception (from the Hibernian League), and Duwell A.C. (from the prior season's defunct AFLSL which played at Kulage's Park). Winton Barker was elected president of the league.

In a close race, St. Teresa's edged Duwell by a point for the league title. St. Teresa's then took park in a postseason series against St. Leo's (champions of the St. Louis Soccer League) for the city championship. On March 12, 1911 at Athletic Park, St. Teresa's provided a major upset tying St. Leo's 2-2. St. Leo's demanded a rematch and, the next Saturday before 4000 in attendance, beat St. Teresa's easily 9-1 to retain the city championship.

©2022 by Daniel Creel. All rights reserved.