Soccer Almanac

American soccer writing, history & data.

AFLSL 1907-08 season

Dec. 17, 2021 |  Categories:  AFLSL   St. Louis  

The Association Football Soccer League of St. Louis returned for the 1907-08 season but had a new competitor for the top league in the city in the newly-organized St. Louis Soccer Football League. St. Leo's was the only team to return from the previous season. The champions were joined by Kinloch (formed from most of the Parish League champions St. Matthew's), Shamrocks (mostly the Nugent players from the past season), and North Ends (which took second in the Mound City league the prior season). The AFLSL continued to play doubleheaders at Kulage Park.

St. Leo's was again the class of the league taking the season league title easily. The club went undefeated and only had two draws during its league schedule. Similarly, St. Leo's went undefeated outside league play. The club beat Illinois' Coal City team twice at the end of February 1908 to win the Chicago and St. Louis intercity title. In a three-game series in March, St. Leo's beat the SLSFL champions, Innisfail, drawing the first game then winning the next two 7-1 and 2-0 to decide the St. Louis city championship.

©2022 by Daniel Creel. All rights reserved.